Department of Pediatrics

Advisory Committee


The Emergency Medical Services for Children Advisory Committee is vital to the success of the EMSC State Partnership. The role of the advisory committee is to provide guidance to the State Partnership through vigilant exploration of the state of pediatric emergency medical care in Texas, identification of EMSC priorities, development of a strategic plan, and implementation and evaluation of EMSC strategy. Committee members, through their various backgrounds and disciplines, bring together a rich assortment of experiences and perspectives to achieve common goals. Moreover, as leaders in the community and in their respective professions and occupations, EMSC Advisory Committee members are instrumental in the promotion and promulgation of EMSC priorities.


Bylaw Document


Committee Members


EMSC Program Director: Saranya Srinivasan, M.D., FAAP

EMSC Program Manager: Joseph C. Santos, M.P.H., NREMT

Children's Hospital Association of Texas (CHAT): Stacy E. Wilson, J.D., President

Disaster Preparedness Specialist: Brent Kaziny, M.D. - Texas Children's Hospital

Emergency Medical Technician/ Paramedic: Liz Yankiver, EMT Paramedic - Austin-Travis County EMS

Emergency Physician: Craig Huang, M.D. - UT Southwestern Medical Center

EMS State Agency Representative: Joseph Schmider, State EMS Director,

Family Representative: Sherry Santa - Texas Parent to Parent

Fire-Based EMS Representative: Ed Norman, City of Stafford Fire and Rescue

Injury Prevention Specialist: Rohit Shenoi, M.D. - Texas Children's Hospital

Nurse with Pediatric Emergency Experience: Sally Snow, RN, Consultant in Pediatric Emergency and Trauma Nursing

Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellow: Abhay Kulkarni, MD Fellow, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine

Physician with Pediatric Training: Kate Remick, M.D. - Dell Children's Medical Center

Quality Improvement Specialist: Charles Macias, M.D., M.P.H.

State Office of Rural Health (SORH): Steve Summers, CPA FACHE CEO-Interim

State Trauma Director: Colin Crocker, State Trauma Director, Office of EMS/Trauma DSHS

Texas College of Emergency Physicians (TCEP): Vacant

Texas Emergency Nurses Association (TENA): Crissie L Richardson, BSN, RN, CEN

Texas Hospital Association (THA): Carrie Kroll, VP of Advocacy, Quality, and Public Health

Texas Pediatric Society (TPS): Manish Shah, M.D., M.S., FAAP, FACEP

Trauma Program Manager: Diana J. Kraus, RN, BSN, TNS - AVP of Trauma Services for Central West Texas Division HCA